Mike Schueler, board president of Deaf Smith County Hospital District, was announced as the recipient of this year’s Founders’ Award from Texas Healthcare Trustees, recognizing his years of outstanding board leadership.

“My priority has always been to help make our hospital and clinic the best place for everyone in our community to receive the care and resources they need to lead healthy lives,” said Schueler. “I am humbled to receive this award on behalf of all the great work our board, leadership team, and staff are doing.”

Schueler’s no-excuses approach to leadership challenges and organizational management has served him well over a 40-year banking career and eight years as board president of Deaf Smith County Hospital District. Schueler was vital in guiding the hospital through myriad challenges, from rebuilding the hospital’s reputation and trust with the community to steadying hospital leadership through the darkest days of the COVID-19 pandemic.

“Mike’s steady leadership, open mind, willingness to listen and collaborate with hospital leadership, and commitment to serving the community is a model for successful board governance,” said Jeff Barnhart, CEO, Deaf Smith County Hospital District. “I have no doubt that I am a better CEO today because of his mentorship and guidance.”

“Mike wants the best for this community and the hospital,” said Deaf Smith County Hospital Districts chief nursing officer, Candice Smith, MSN, RHCNOC, CCRN. “He has supported the hospital’s leadership over the years and been consistently focused on our mission and our vision to be a premier hospital for Hereford and surrounding areas.”

Each year, THT’s Founders’ Award is presented to a distinguished health care trustee with an exemplary record of leadership, dedication, and excellence in health care governance and their community.

Schueler earned a bachelor’s degree in agricultural economics with an emphasis in finance from Texas Tech University in 1985. His banking career began during his studies and carried on after graduation as he worked significant stretches in three banks in Texas and Oklahoma before joining FirstBank Southwest Hereford in 1998, where he currently serves as president.